Thoughts on courage

When I started this blog it took a massive leap of faith for me to press the publish button. I have a lot of thoughts of self-doubt and I have suffered from low self confidence and self esteem. It can be difficult to ignore.

For example;

~Will anyone read it?

~Will people think that anything I have to say is relevant or interesting?

~Do I have anything relevant to say?

~What would my friends & family think about me acting as though I can write anything worth knowing?

That last one in particular actually makes me laugh a little reading it back now. First of all because who cares? And also because actually my family and friends are always very supportive of me. I suppose its just that little paranoid noise ticking away at the back of my head putting doubts there.

So, yes, it was a leap of faith. I read up on how to start a blog and typed away trying to ignore the doubts and clocked publish before I could talk myself out of it. Because I wanted to do it, I do have faith that I have something worth saying and that I could actually help people with how to balance their lives, which is what I want to do with this blog.

So I closed my eyes and pressed publish, I almost didn’t expect anyone at all the read it, at first especially, then I checked back and there was a like, a few visitors, and even some followers! (Hi, by the way, its is very nice to meet you!) So that encouraged me to write more. I read up on how to grow my blog and made sure that I followed through with what I was reading (there is some good blog advice on my Blog Help Pinterest board if you need some tips). So I try my hardest to write a post every single day and release it into the world via the internet and now, after all the worrying, it feels good to do it and thank you for reading & responding to it.

After the experience I have had here I hope to be writing in this way for years to come and continue to get more response as that is what it’s all for! It took a lot of courage for me to publish my first post and now I can’t imagine what I would do without it. I hope that you find the courage you need to take a leap of faith into something you want to do, even if it scares you. Especially if it scares you!

Imogen x

2 thoughts on “Thoughts on courage

  1. Jenifer Ryder says:

    Imogen thought I’d just say your blog is great and I’m enjoying reading your daily posts as and when I catch up with them. You will only gain in confidence as you go but what a fantastic and courageous start. Well done! Keep em coming 🙂 xx

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

