Sometimes things just have to stop for a while

As of Friday the Hope household has been struck down with a stomach bug. All of us. Me, the boy and the baby. Littlest started first closely followed by me then J. Lucky Mr.H is as far away as possible working in the states.
And lucky for us my mum/super grandma is around the corner and was here first thing to look after us. I spent the day in bed drifting in and out of sleep while J snoozed on the couch watching Disney films.
Vi made a pretty miraculous recovery and spent the day pottering around being her usual cheeky little self. While grandma cleaned up sick like the superstar legend that she is.
So no packing got done, no trips to the dump, no karate lessons, no tidying, no kids parties.
It doesn’t matter though. We’re all on the mend now and we are so grateful for that. This morning we are feeling brighter and keeping food down. Opening the curtains this morning and letting some light into the house was an absolutely joy.
So today it would be easy for me to run around trying to do all that needed doing over the weekend but I will remind myself constantly that I need to be kinder to myself today especially.
The agenda for today includes reading, cuddling, films, tea and toast, gentle board games and painting.
I would be lying if I said I didn’t have to do some cleaning as I’ve got a letting agent taking photos of the house first thing in the morning 😖 but bare minimum will be the motto of the day!
Imogen x

Leave a Reply

